Career Center inducts 22 students in National Technical Honor Society

Honor Students

Newly inducted members of the National Technical Honor Society are shown with Dr. Rhinnie Scott, Principal of the GCHS Career Center,  Mrs. Angela White, Ms. Shenell H. Spears and Ms. Willie Gilmore Co-advisors;  Rev. Gwendolyn Webb, guest speaker; Interim Superintendent  Dr. James H. Carter, Sr.  and School Board President, Mr. Leo Branch.

Greene County High School Career Center inducted its first scholars into the National Technical Honor Society, Friday March 31, 2016.  The 22 students indicted included Telejah Bevelle, Denzel Davis, Sabrina French, Jameria Hood, Tyra Hutton, N’Khala Richardson, Ashley Taylor, Amber Woods, Delorine Brown, Brittany Deloatch, Raven Gilliam, Leterreia Hutton, Destini Jackson, Lauren Smith, Jasmine Williams, Tukiya Cunningham, Amber French, Sara Hawkins, Ollivara Hutton, Anthony McGhee, Chanique Sterling and Michael Winn.
The program consisted of the following: Entrance of Inductee; Posting of Colors by the JROTC; Pledge of Allegiance led by Denzel Davis; Welcome given by Tukiya Cunningham; History of NTHS shared by Ollivara Hutton; Selection by the GCHS Choir; Purpose presented by Lauren Smith; the Motto/Colors/Slogan explained by Sara Hawkins and the Introduction of the Guest Speaker presented by Sabrina French.Rev. Gwendolyn Cook-Webb, Pastor of God’s People United for a Better World Church, Birmingham, AL was the guest speaker.  Rev. Webb shared her experiences as a child of the movement in Birmingham in the 1960’s on.
The lighting of the candles representing the Seven Attributes of NTHC was presented as follows: Knowledge by Amber Woods; Skill by Jasmine Williams; Honesty by Ashley Taylor; Service by Chanique Sterling; Responsibility by Tyra Hutton; Scholarship by Anthony McGhee; Citizenship by N’Khala Richardson; and Leadership by Delorine Brown.
Pinning of Inductees and Presentation of Certificates were led by Mrs. Angela White, Ms. Willie Gilmore and Ms. Shenell Spears.  Dr. Rhinnie Scott, Principal of the Career Center, Interim Superintendent James H. Carter and School Board President Mr. Leo Branch also assisted.
Following the students recitation of the NTHS Pledge, closing remarks were presented by Dr. Carter and Dr. Rhinnie Scott.  A reception followed for students, parents and other guests.
About NTH
The National Technical Honor Society, founded in 1984, serves approximately 80,000 active members nationwide. Over $225,000 in scholarship is awarded annually to its members.  For over 30 years NTHS has been the acknowledged leader in the recognition of outstanding student achievement in career and technical education.
NTHS strives to bring well deserved recognition, scholarship opportunities, and career opportunities to students who excel in one of the 108 career and technical educational fields as their profession. Through its scholarships, NTHS encourages students to pursue higher education and training in technical fields and supports members in their lifelong commitment to a skilled trade.

Leave a Reply