Paramount Jr. High inducts 18 students into the National Jr. Honor Society



Far Left: Mr. & Mrs. Abraham Kennard and Superintendent James Carter shown with Inductees of the Abraham Kennard Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society of Paramount Jr. High School. Far Right: Principal Frederick Square and Ms. Brenda Grant, Advisor.


Paramount Jr. High School inducted 18 members into the Abraham Kennard Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society on Friday, April 29, 2016.  The 2015-2016 Inductee were: Derrick Allen, LaKayla Bullock, Roydricker Bullock, Tinyre Dancy, Jakeria Hargrove, Talia Hawkins, Dekylah Head, Karleisha Henley, LaCarria Hodges, Ronald Hopson, ShaKiya Johnson, Shandrya Mobley, Jamia Purse, Alanna Robinson, Nigel Speights, Sharlisa Taylor, Jamealeyah Williams, and Kanisha Williams.
The Chapter is named for former Paramount Principal, Mr. Abraham Kennard of Forkland, AL who was present at the ceremony with his wife, Mrs. Flora Kennard.
The current officers and members of the Paramount Chapter are Quantynia Johnson, President; Teresa Moore, Vice president; Miya Hardy, Secretary; Elouise Edwards, Treasurer; Jaylon Scott, Parliamentarian; (members) Woodrow Bullock, IV; and Jalen Cotton.
The Induction Program opened with a Musical Prelude, followed by Entrance of the Inductees, Posting of the Colors by the Greene County High School JROTC, the Pledge of Allegiance led by Tavion White and a solo by Ms. Felecia Smith. The Lighting of the Candles and brief statements on the Principles of the National Junior Honor Society were presented by the following members: Jaylon Scott, Character; Woodrow Bullock, IV, Citizenship; Elouise Edwards, Scholarship; Miya Hardy, Leadership and Jalen Cotton, Service. Following this presentation, President Quantynia Johnson extinguished the candles.
Ms. Brenda Grant, Advisor, presented the inductees for enrollment, pinning and signing of the register.  Principal Frederick Square led the inductees in the Recitation of the Pledge.
Musical selections were rendered by the GCHS Choral Ensemble. Closing remarks were presented by Mr. Kennard, Interim Superintendent Dr. James H. Carter, Sr. and Principal Square.
Special guests were members of the Eunice R. Outland Chapter of the National Honor Society of Greene County High School, the GCHS JROTC and the GCHS Choral Ensemble.
The faculty council include Ms. Brenda Grant, Ms. Su’Kova Hicks, Ms. Janice Jeames, Ms. Drenda Morton, and Ms. Rosalyn Robinson.
A reception was held for guests, parents, members and inductees.

Leave a Reply