GCHS Chapter of National Honor Society inducts 14 students

National Honor Society

The Eunice R. Outland Chapter of the National Honor Society of Greene County High School inducted 14 students at its ceremony held Friday, March 11, 2016 in the GCHS gymnasium. The 2015-2016 Inductees included Yasmeen Amerson, Delorine Brown, Zakia Coleman, Tukiya Cunningham, Keyonna Dixon, Sabrina French, Jameria Hood, Victoria Hood, Leterria Hutton, Anthony McGee, Lauren Smith, Christopher Stepney, Kwanza Watkins and Jasmine Williams.
GCHS Principal Gary Rice opened the program and invited Interim Superintendent Dr. James H. Carter to bring greetings.
Ollivara Hutton, current President of the GCHS Chapter of NHS, served as Mistress of Ceremony.  Other program participants included Greene County High School choir and band and Posting of Colors by the JROTC.  Amber French gave the mediation and the welcome and history of NHS were presented by Amber Woods and Michael Winn respectively.  Tyra Hutton and Destini Jackson gave the history of the chapter’s name.  N’Khala Richardson presented the student speakers.  Words of Encouragement were shared by Ashley Taylor, Denzel Davis, and Chelsey Davis. Lighting of the Candles representing the Principles of the NHS were presented as follows:  Lauren Smith, Knowledge of Honor; Christopher Stepney, Character; Delorine Brown, Scholarship; Zakia Coleman, Leadership; and Tukiya Cunningham, Service.  Mr. Alphonzo Morton, III led the inductees in the recitation of the pledge.
School Board President, Mr. Leo Branch, gave congratulatory comments before the close of the program.
Current officers of the GCHS Chapter of NHS are: President, Ollivara Hutton; Vice President, Ashley Taylor; Secretary, Tyra Hutton; Treasurer, Denzel Davis; Parliamentarian Michael Winn; and Historian, Destini Jackson. Other members include Nnambi Coleman, Chelsey Davis, Brittany Deloatch, Amber French, Raven Gilliam, Sara Hawkins, Jeremy Mobley, N’khala Richardson and Amber Woods.
The Faculty Council include Lillian Lewis, Advisor; Alphonzo Morton, III, Co-Advisor; Ruby Bell, Halven Carodine, Angela Harkness, Tonia Sparks and Tamika Thompson.

Leave a Reply