Fire Fighters Association holds 4th annual banquet and awards program

Shown above: The planning committee for the program included Geraldine Walton Chairman, Hodges Smith, Bennie Abrams, Iris Sermon, Mollie Gaines Willie Mae Austin and Janetta Hall – not pictured Kenny Young and James Crawford.

Shown above Bennie Abrams IV and Hodges Smith of the Greene County AVF

Shown L to R: Jamie Cox, Kenny Young, Lamar Ingram, James Crawford, Barry Lusk and Bennie Abram IV

The Greene County Association of Volunteer Fire Fighters Departments (AVFD) held its Fourth Annual Volunteer Fire Fighters’ Banquet and Awards program, Friday, October 14 , 2016 at the former Greene County National Guard Armory.
Bennie Lee Abrams IV was selected as Distinguished Fire Fighter of the Year for 2016 and presented with a plaque by Hodges Smith, President of the Greene County AVFD. Abrams was recognized for Exceptional Courage and Dedicated Service to the Citizens of Greene County. Receiving 2nd place was Kurt Turner of the Tishabee Department and 3rd place went to Barry Lusk of the Boligee / Forkland Department for Distinguished Volunteer Fire Fighter of the Year Awards.
Sheriff Jonathan Benison, Chief Derick Coleman, Kenneth Smith and James Crawford received Presidential Awards.
Eutaw VFD Chief Bennie Abrams rang the bell in honor of fallen firefighters. Guest speaker for the occasion was Rev. Dexter Thornton, with an ensemble featuring Marvin Thornton and the Angels of Faith.
Each of the 14 Volunteer Firefighters Departments received a Good Standing Membership Award.

Leave a Reply