The Greene County Democratic Executive Committee announces candidates

The Greene County Democratic Executive Committee announced the list of candidates that have qualified to run in the June 5, 2018 primary for county and state positions. The qualifying period ended on Friday, February 9, 2018 at 5:00 PM.
The following persons qualified for county offices, which will be on the ballot for the 2018 June Primary and November General Elections:

Probate Judge:  John Kennard, Grace Belton-Stanford, Rashon Smith, Jeremy Rancher, Rolanda M. Wedgeworth and James Carter
Greene County Sheriff: Jonathan “Joe” Benison, Jimmie Benison, Lorenzo French and Beverly Spencer.
Coroner: Ronald “Kent” Smith and Finest Gandy, Jr. .
Circuit Clerk: Veronica Morton-Jones and Debra Blackmon

Greene County Commission, all seats to be involved:

District 1: Lester “Bop” Brown and James Gaines, Jr.

District 2: Tennyson Smith, no opposition.

District 3: Corey Cockrell and Elzora C. Fluker.

District 4: Allen Turner, Jr. and John Vester.

District 5: Michael Williams, Marvin Childs, Grace Atkins Lavender, Roshanda  Summerville and Marvin K. Walton.

Democratic Executive Committee:
Barbara Ann Collin -District 1, Lester Cotton -District 3, Teresa M. Atkins  -District 3, Spiver W. Gordon- District 3, Mary Morrow Carter -District 3, Frank “Pinto ‘ Smith -District 3, Hattie Barnett Edwards- District 3, Amy Billups Wiggins -District 2 and Linda R. Spencer -District 1

State Democratic Executive Committee: Bettye Maye – SDEC 71, Nick Underwood SDEC 71
Johnnie Mae Scott – SDEC 72, Arthur Crawford, Sr. – SDEC 72, John Zippert – SDEC 72
All candidates may announce their candidacy, with a photo, at no cost in the Greene County Democrat. Please bring your announcement to the newspaper office. Special rates are also available for political advertisements after the free announcement.

Leave a Reply